top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMicaela Murphy

bienvenida e introducción

Welcome to my blog!


This blog is about my study abroad experience in Seville, Spain. I will be posting weekly, and I will have a YouTube channel linked to this as well (but it is still in the works). If I'm being honest, this is weird. I am not really a person that likes to post often, nor do I enjoy sharing my thoughts and feelings online. However, when I applied for my program and scholarships there was the option to put in my social media information because the education abroad office wants to be able to share real experiences from students. Thankfully, I ended up getting quite a bit in scholarships so I could afford studying abroad--all for the price of having a blog and posting regularly. Seems like a pretty fair trade off to me, especially since I will be making posts anyways. Hopefully I get over the embarrassment of writing a blog, but in the meantime, please be nice.


Here is a brief backstory that explains how I got to this point:


My first semester at UW-Platteville I shared two classes with Kelley. Conveniently, one was Spanish.We ended up becoming great friends, and discussed studying abroad together. I was all for it for awhile, but once the end of my freshman year hit, I decided against it because the cost was too steep. Kelley, however, had another friend interested in going to Seville with her. I am not sure how Kelley and Taylor met to be honest (sorry guys!) but I do know that Taylor was over 90% sure she wanted to go.


At the beginning of this semester, I asked Kelley if she was still going to study abroad because I decided over the summer that I should join her. Then I proceeded to talk myself out of it, yet again, just because it was too pricey. About a week later, I told Kelley that I was all in.


In my Interviewing class I sat next to a girl that was in my Spanish class, only I couldn't quite remember her name. We ended up talking about our only similarity at the time (Spanish) and I told her that I am studying abroad in Seville. She told me that she might study abroad there too, and I thought it was just a coincidence. Then I realized that this girl was the Taylor that Kelley told me about, and Taylor realized that I was the Micaela that Kelley told her about! We formed a friendship over confusion about the assigned reading in our classes and reacting to the strange thing our professor would say.


Now we are less than three weeks out from leaving the states. Thankfully, we are flying with each other, but we currently do not know what will happen after that. On our study abroad applications we requested to be placed in the same homestay. Unfortunately, we will not find out until about a week prior to the program start. I am really nervous for the outcome, but either way I am really lucky to have this experience.


Thanks for reading!


-Micaela

120 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page